GA Update: My First Week at Work

Several of my friends have asked me how things are going in my new house, in my new job, and in Georgia all around.  First, I sincerely apologize that I haven’t kept up with my messages.  You are all so kind and sweet to ask and be concerned.  I heart you guys!  And second, it has been an absolute whirlwind since I got here.  You’re never going to believe all of this!

First, I left on a Thursday and got to Georgia on Friday.  When I got to my destination, I still had a couple of hours before I could get into the house…  SO I WENT SHOPPING!  (Duh!)  Although that is my go to response when I have time to kill and a house to furnish, it really wasn’t the brightest idea because I drove down with only whatever I could fit in my car.  It was already packed to the top, but I grabbed a few more things and crammed it in there anyway!  By the time I was headed to the house, I could only see out my back window through the legs of a bar stool.  Hey, it still worked!

When I got ready for work on my first day, I plugged my work address into my GPS and headed off.  Well apparently my GPS got confused and took me waaaay beyond where I was supposed to be.  My good friend texted me when I should have been walking into work and asked if I made it.  When I called him, he asked where I was.  I said “I have no freakin’  idea, but I’m stuck in traffic on a bridge over the Chattahoochee River!”  Obviously, I was way off target so he helped me get back to where I needed to be.  However, I was already late for my first day orientation.  Lovely.  When I finally got to parking ramp at work, I misjudged the entrance and hit a pole with the back end of my car.  Sigh.  Awesome way to start the first day at my new job.

Awesome.

My second day of work was what we call the “store day.”  Everyone who works for THD spends a day working in a store.  The store I was assigned to was 50 minutes from my house.  So I planned ahead and left early so I could make the treacherous trek up 285 (SQUIRREL – For those of you familiar with 285, I hope you had horror movie music going through your head like I did right now).  I made it on time, donned my orange apron (more like ROCKED my orange apron) and went in.  I got to start my day stocking products and facing shelves, but when the store got busy I was running around helping people.  One small catch, I’ve never been in this store before, but today I have to be the expert at EVERYTHING in there.  At least that’s what every customer I saw expected.  I helped sell cleaning products, ceramic tile, dryer hoses, window screens, and I even made my team late for lunch because I was helping to sell a toilet seat… by assisting the customer get them out and sit on them to try them out.  (SQUIRREL – THD sells more than one toilet seat with a night light in it.  You know you want one.)  In the afternoon, I helped people buy blinds.  By the way, I totally suck at that.  Good to know.

I’ve been able to get to and from work without incident ever since and I can even do it now without my GPS.  Good thing too since that b*tch is obviously more directionally challenged than I am.

Over the weekend, my stuff got here!  Dan and our friend Nick drove the moving truck down.  They got here Friday and our plan was to unload, as well as get many deliveries and services set up on Saturday.  First delivery was my appliances!  I had to reschedule 3 times because they couldn’t get here when I could be here, so I spent my first 8 days without a fridge, washer, or dryer.  (SQUIRREL – I did have my bestest pal help me get a dorm fridge just to get me through the week.  DH has now claimed it for his office.)  When they set up the fridge, we found a dent on it.  Great.  Then the movers came an hour after that.  After complaining about my steep driveway for a half hour, they finally started unloading.  The very first thing they took off the truck was my daughter’s dresser… that they dumped off the dolly as soon as they rolled it off the truck and broke one of the drawers and most of the knobs off.  Really?!  Sadly, that wasn’t the only damage they did.  Then while we were unloading, I noticed that the yard was starting to get muddy.  The previous owner happened to be here when we noticed it and he called his plumber to come out.  In the meantime, the cable guy and the security system guy came.  When the plumber got here, he found that we had a broken water main under the driveway.  Are you effing kidding me?!?!  In order to fix the pipe – that was 3 1/2 feet under the edge of the driveway – we had to shut off the water.  So no showers for the people who have been working and sweating in 100+ degree heat all day!  (SQUIRREL – We got hand towels wet and kept them in the freezer so the guys could use them to try and cool off throughout the day.)  And now there is a muddy hole next to the driveway so the cable guy can’t bury the line resulting in a long orange cable draped across my driveway and through my front yard.  Oh, the Home Owners Association is going to just *L*O*V*E* us.  Did I mention that the emergency plumbing fix totaled $1100?  Gaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!

But who can be mad when I see things like this!  (I was already down here for lots of the final packing at my Michigan house.  My family got creative labeling boxes.)

Even after all that nonsense (and mind you, all of this happened in my first 8 days here… the rest of my family wasn’t even here yet), it’s still been a positive experience.  My job is going well, the house is amazing (even filled with boxes and no furniture), and I’m already doing things I never would have been able to before (like meet one of my Paleo idols, The Paleo Mom!).

Nice to talk to you again, Team Squirrel.  I’ll get back into the swing of things soon so we can hang out again.  😀

One thought on “GA Update: My First Week at Work

  1. This reminds me what happened when we first move to Michigan. Sorry to hear what happened, but major part of the life is positive. Happy for you.

Leave a Reply

