Starting My 2014 Garden

I’m a little behind, but I have pics from the beginning of my 2014 Garden!  As some of you know, my garden is my summer sanctuary.  I love planning, designing, planting, and harvesting.  It’s not only where I clear my mind, but I also get FOOD.  Score!

This year, we scaled back a bit.  No new beds (although I do have plans for a “house” structure to grow my beans on), no additional soil.  I even scaled back the number of plants.  As a result, this was the fastest year of prep we’ve ever had.

I moved my monster tarragon plant.  That thing was taking over my herb bed.  It’s now in the actual soil on the side of the garden near the fence row.  I left the oregano though.  And it’s already huge.  The “mutant” green onions (those dudes who popped up from the compost pile last year) CAME BACK.  Which means they are on year 3.  Holy crap.  And my chives came back!  I was certain they were goners after last year, but nope… Here they are again!

Returning plants:

  • Beans
  • Cukes
  • Zukes (Zucchini)
  • Kale
  • Tomatoes
  • Parsnips
  • Carrots
  • Beets
  • Bell Peppers

Newcomers this year:

  • Rosemary
  • Thyme
  • Rainbow Chard
  • Hot Peppers
  • Brussel Sprouts
  • Broccoli
  • Cauliflower
  • RHUBARB

I’ve done the herbs before but I didn’t have either of those last year.  We also skipped hot peppers last year because we had WAAAAAAAY too many from the year before.  There are still 2 gallon bags full of dried ones in my pantry from 2012.  I’ve tried brussel sprouts before, but those damn cabbage moths killed them last time I did.  (SQUIRREL – I’m ready for you this year, you little plant-eating demons.  So don’t even think about it!)  I’ve never grown broccoli or cauliflower successfully.  But so far, so good this year.  Wish me luck on those.

And RHUBARB!  I have loved rhubarb since I was a kid.  I used to eat it right out of my grandpa’s garden.  Before I got the chance to plant him outside, that little guy took a bad turn and I thought I killed him.  There were only 2 withered, yellow leaves left when I got him in the ground and they immediately dried up and fell off.  But he came back!  HURRAY!!!!!

 

And last but not least, for my kiddos, FLOWERS.

And to ensure that I actually get to spend time in my garden this year, there is actually one new structure that we built…

Thank you to Eric, Brandon, Nick, Doug, Laura, Casey, Bonnie, and Ben for helping with this.  It’s worth every minute we all spent on it.  😀

2 thoughts on “Starting My 2014 Garden

Leave a Reply

