WIKA Paleo – Paleo Staples

Welcome to What I Know About Paleo (WIKA Paleo)!

While I was drafting another blog post idea (about my grocery shopping trips), I started thinking about all of the stuff I have in my pantry/fridge.  These things are just a “given” when I am meal planning for the week because I keep them on hand all the time.

Some of my paleo pantry items

Some of my paleo pantry items

Fats

  • Coconut oil – For frying and baking because it holds up to high temperatures, also spray
  • Ghee – It’s kind of like clarified butter
  • Butter – Preferably Kerrygold, but always organic
  • Olive oil – For cold dishes and salads because it does NOT hold up to high temperatures
  • Sesame oil – For Asian-style dishes
  • Avocado oil – Mostly for making my own mayonnaise, but for lots of other stuff too
  • Bacon grease – Saved from any time I make bacon
  • I intend to add LARD to this list, but I haven’t rendered my own or found a source I trust yet.

Nuts and Seeds

  • Raw almonds, almond flour, almond butter
  • Sunflower seeds, sunflower seed butter
  • Walnuts
  • Pecans
  • Sesame seeds, tahini
  • Pumpkin seeds (pepitos)
  • Flax seed, whole and then ground myself when needed

Flours and thickeners

  • Tapioca flour
  • Arrowroot powder
  • Agar agar – not used often, but I keep it on hand
  • Gelatin – grass-fed (I have both the red can that thickens and the green can that doesn’t)
  • Brown rice flour – NOT considered strict paleo, but I use it occasionally

Sweeteners

  • Turbinado sugar
  • Stevia – powdered, liquid, and leaf
  • Raw honey – preferably from a local source
  • Maple syrup
  • Molasses

Dried fruits – unsweetened and unsulfured

  • Dates
  • Raisins
  • Apricots
  • Cranberries
  • Figs
  • Cherries – living in Michigan makes this pretty easy  🙂

Coconut – gets its own category!

  • Coconut flaked and shredded – unsweetened
  • Coconut flour
  • Coconut water
  • Coconut milk
  • Coconut cream
  • Coconut butter

Extras

  • Chocolate chips
  • Cocoa powder
  • Fish sauce
  • Anchovies – teeny tiny jar because I don’t use it often
  • Lemon/lime/orange juice
  • Broth – homemade beef bone, poultry bone, and veggie broth
  • Canned tomatoes – crushed, diced, sauce, paste; preferably organic
  • Garlic – big jar of minced is quick and convenient
  • Ginger – little jar of pureed is quick and convenient
  • Vinegars – apple cider, balsamic, coconut
  • Vanilla – I make my own!  Easy and inexpensive
  • Mustards – organic dijon, stone ground, and yellow
  • Tamari – gluten free soy sauce (I prefer aminos though)
  • Liquid and coconut aminos
  • Crap ton of herbs and spices

It took quite a while to build up these staples, but I find that that these are the things I need to keep on hand.

Hope you found this helpful!

2 thoughts on “WIKA Paleo – Paleo Staples

Leave a Reply

