WIKA Paleo – How I Spent My Sunday

As I mentioned yesterday, it is GAME ON with getting back to clean eating.  I made a lot of food yesterday to prep for the week.  But there was still more to do today.

I started with dinner.  Wait… WHAAAAA????  Yep, I whipped up a crockpot roast for dinner today based on the Crockpot Beef Roast and Cabbage recipe from Paleo Table.  I didn’t realize it until I started writing this post that I get a ton of ideas from this site.  Her meal plans have helped me immensely on my paleo journey.

Anywho, I changed the recipe a little because 1.)  I had this English Roast that I didn’t know what to do with, 2.)  I didn’t have leeks so I used sweet onion, and 3.)  I’m not in the mood for star anise today.  More on that later…

Then I started on some homemade sausage.  I’ve been anxious to make this recipe for 3 weeks now.  The stars finally aligned and I made Homemade Maple Apple Breakfast Sausage.  Jiminy Christmas!  This sausage is AMAZING.  I’m so glad I did a double batch.  (SQUIRREL – Do you like my new Bobby Flay frying pan?  I DO!)

While I was hand-mixing the ground pork and sauteing my onion, garlic, and apples, I noticed something in my back yard.  We have these goofy turkeys that wander around in the back yard and even eat from my apple trees.  It’s times like these that I wish I had a crossbow.  I’m a good shot with an arrow and I have plenty of room in my freezer.  So I got a little distracted and overcooked my stuff a little.  No harm done though.  It might have even made them better.

I turned out about 18 of the patties (and scarfed down 3 while I was frying up the rest), froze some, and used some in some roasted acorn squash (from my harvest this year!).  So the acorn squash is another…

MSU Meal!  (That stands for Make Stuff Up Meal)

Here’s how that recipe went…  Cut the squash in half, scoop out the seeds, spoon in the raw sausage, bake in the oven for maybe 45 minutes at 350 degrees, and stand back and drool.  (SQUIRREL – I’ve realized that I don’t get enough complex carbs and that I work out enough – and am too high energy – to NOT have something like that on a daily basis.  These squashes will be a good dose of nutrient dense complex carbs with protein and fat after my workout.  Zumba + sausage squash = best. night. ever.)

Back to dinner…  English Roast, purple cabbage, roasted carrots and broccoli (SQUIRREL – If you have never roasted broccoli before, try it SOON.  It will change your life.  I promise.), and some maple-glazed acorn squash (the leftover pieces from earlier).  Sorry I don’t have pics of the finished products.  I got distracted… then hungry.

I did also bake some chicken so I have that for lunches/dinners/whatever during the week.  And while I was finishing up roasting my veggies, I got distracted again from the back yard.  This time, it was our neighborhood deer.

So I say again, that freezer ain’t gonna fill itself.  Maybe I’ll ask for my crossbow for Mother’s Day.  😉

Last thing I did was decide I needed some candy.  So another MSU Meal.  😀  I melted and entire bag of Enjoy Life Chocolate Chips with a couple tablespoons of coconut oil and about 1/4 cup of almond butter.  Then I added chopped pecans, shredded coconut, and flaked coconut until it wasn’t too soupy.  Then I dropped them on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet and stuck those puppies in the freezer.  Oh. Baby.

Dessert - Paleo chocolate candies (MSU-ed)

Dessert – Paleo chocolate candies (MSU-ed)

On a somewhat related note, does anyone know how to get melted chocolate off of a laptop keyboard?  Just kidding!!!

Hope you enjoyed your weekend!  (((HUGS)))

One thought on “WIKA Paleo – How I Spent My Sunday

  1. 🙂 “slow down, you move too fast; got to make the morning last”. Really girl, I don’t know how you do it. High pressure job, 2 young daughters, gardening, cooking, singing. You need to be easier on yourself. Just don’t give up singing. Love you!

Leave a Reply

