New Year’s Resolutions for 2014

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

New Year’s Resolution time…  I’m leery of posting this because it feels like a recipe for NOT meeting these goals, but here goes.

  • Eat healthy.  I want to sugar detox and then stick to my paleo diet.  I do really well when I follow it religiously, but I struggle with self-discipline.  One of my support group friends has recently posted about this and I think I’m onto cracking this nut.
  • Get strong.  I want to lift weights and build my endurance.  An added bonus would be if I could tone up in the process.
  • Improve my emotional health.  My good friend and nutritionist keeps telling me that I need to identify and address the emotional triggers that keep me from reaching my goals.  This will be the most difficult to achieve.
  • Improve my self-image.  The girl that other people see (and the girl that is in my mirror) is MUCH different than the image of that girl in my head.  I want to get comfortable with myself and my body.  This resolution is closely tied to the emotional health one.
  • Stop caring about what other people think of me.  This is another biggie.  I need to keep other people out of my “self talk” and learn what *I* want and what makes *me* happy.  As a mom/wife, this is a foreign concept to me… but it shouldn’t be.
  • Work on house renovations.  My house needs work.  Not just aesthetically, but structurally too.  We’ll never be able to move out of this house if we don’t do this.  It’s time.
  • Get financially healthy.  I want to practice only buying what I “NEED” instead of what we “WANT.”  And I want to take care of 2 outstanding debts in particular.  (Btw, house renovations is a NEED.)
  • Bucket List Birthday.  I did this for my 40th and I think it needs to be an annual tradition.  The only thing I have on the list this year so far is to eat a fish taco, but I have a couple of months to fill up the list.  Don’t worry, I’ll be blogging about it.  🙂
  • Lastly, (be brave, Min) I want to wear a bikini…  outside… in public…  just once.  (This is the one WANT I will allow myself as a reward if I can get comfortable enough to do it.)
  • There’s one other that I can’t tell you yet, because I’m too scared.  I’ll let you know when I’m ready though.  Oooh!  The suspense!!!

Now I know that resolutions are tricky.  They seem to be set up for failure.  But I’d like to think of them as guides… or goals… and I can go as fast or as slow as I like to TRY and achieve them.  TRY is the objective word here.  It’s OK if I don’t make it.  I’m giving myself permission to NOT complete this list.  (Reverse psychology… BRILLIANT!)

No pressure.  Let’s just see how this goes.  😀  I’d love to hear your resolutions if you want to share.

Here’s to a fantastic 2014!!!

5 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions for 2014

  1. Best of luck to you, dear Lady. I know you can do this. Just know that we love you just because you’re “you”, wonderful you! You are a joy in our lives. Happy New Year. Hugs and prayers for a wonderful 2014.

  2. Mindy,
    I am very excited to hear that you started blogging. Everything I know about you screams that this is a good place for you to be. Your enthusiasm and zeal for life are revealed in the sparkle in your eyes. The passion you display in all of your interactions is infectious.
    You are a rare and wonderful person and this blog is an amazing way to share yourself with others. Thank you for taking the time to do just that.
    Now on to resolutions; as you know I am a voracious reader and the analyst in me drives me to cut right to the chase. And as a coach, I like to point towards reference material so please don’t forget that not everyone is able to convey emotion or feeling into their writing as well as you.
    DISCLAIMER: Nearly 100% of everything I say I have stolen from people much more capable than I so if it sounds like you’ve heard it before and I don’t cite a source, it’s simply that I don’t recall who I stole it from. J
    In the book, “What They Don’t Teach You in the Harvard Business School”, Mark McCormack tells a study conducted on students in the 1979 Harvard MBA program. In that year, the students were asked, “Have you set clear, written goals for your future and made plans to accomplish them?” Only three percent of the graduates had written goals and plans; 13 percent had goals, but they were not in writing; and a whopping 84 percent had no specific goals at all.
    Ten years later, the members of the class were interviewed again, and the findings, while somewhat predictable, were nonetheless astonishing. The 13 percent of the class who had goals were earning, on average, twice as much as the 84 percent who had no goals at all. And what about the three percent who had clear, written goals? They were earning, on average, ten times as much as the other 97 percent put together.
    Although this is probably one of the best reasons to write your goals down, making them SMART or Specific; Measurable; Attainable; Realistic & Trackable, that isn’t my reason for writing them down. For me, it is far simpler than that, a goal unwritten is a goal you think about only when you happen to think about it. DAH, right? Well, what I’ve personally experienced and what is inferred in the in the statistics above is that you actually think about a written goal every time you see it! So writing them down an positioning them where you must see them, and see them often will compound a person’s desire to achieve them exponentially.
    Wayne Gretzky once said, “You’ll miss 100% of the shots to don’t take” and Orrin Woodward says that the distance between your current reality and your goals usually equals your level of motivation. The greater the distance, the greater the motivation and the greater the reward.
    So, I can’t wait to hear of you successes. Remember that failure is a key component of success and the only way to NOT succeed is to quit.
    Recommended Read – The Ant and the Elephant by Vince Poscente , you’ll love it.
    Cheers and God Bless!!!!
    JC

  3. Pingback: I Hate that Girl in My Head | The Squirrel Chronicles

Leave a Reply

