Trip Report

Hello, my friends!  Long time, no see!  I just got back from a trip to DC.  Well, DC adjacent.  I had to go to HR training for work, but I got to go with 3 of my colleagues… so it was actually pretty fun.  Here are the highlights:

Day 1 – Flying and shopping

I had to take a connecting flight later than my colleagues so I was looking at a couple of hours of layover by myself.  But I lucked out!  My friend, Danyelle, was ALSO on my flight and had the same layover.  So we had lunch together, did some people watching, and talked about how rude some people are at the airport. Good times!

When we reached our destination, I got to go to an Ikea for the very first time.   That was awesome!  Check out this amazing couch I found…

The couch I wanted from my first trip to Ikea

The couch I wanted from my first trip to Ikea

Day 2 – DSW!!!

The Designer Shoe Warehouse, aka DSW, is within walking distance from the hotel.  Last week I decided that I probably needed to throw away my very favorite pair of work shoes.  I lucked out and found a new pair at the DSW.  SCORE!!!  Aren’t they cute?!?!

My favorite work shoes

My favorite work shoes

Day 3 – Dinner with an old friend

I got to hang out with another friend of mine who I used to work with.  He was also in town so he picked me up and we went to dinner at Genghis Grill (like Mongolian Barbeque).  When I got back from dinner, I decided to walk next door and have a drink.  This is my DC trip drink of choice.

The X-rated Flirtini from the Hilton in Springfield, VA

The “X-rated Flirtini” from the Hilton in Springfield, VA

Day 4 – Silver Diner

Dinner this night was at the Silver Diner.  I love this place.  They have typical diner food, but it’s a little more upscale and much healthier.  And they have a very impressive gluten-free selections!!!  I had GF spaghetti and turkey meatballs with garlic bread made with Udi’s.  O. M. G.  I took leftovers back with the intention of eating them for lunch the next day, but I ate them cold in front of the TV that night.  I couldn’t help it!

After dinner, we did a little shopping at Barnes and Noble.  My local B&N has very few paleo cookbooks, but a B&N near DC has TONS of them!  So I picked up one of the most recent additions to my wish list.  WELL FED 2!!!  I follow the author’s blog and also have her first cookbook.  I read this entire book from cover to cover on my return flights.

Tee hee hee!!!  Paleo cooking makes me giddy!!!

WELL FED 2 - My new Paleo cookbook

WELL FED 2 – My new Paleo cookbook

Day 5 – Gettin’ my geek on

(SQUIRREL – We started our day by passing the Vice Admiral in the stairwell on his way back from working out.  That’s like a celebrity sighting as far as I’m concerned.  I told him “good morning”… because I’m cool like that.)

One of my colleagues found a great deal at Micro Center and about half the class decided to go get the deal the next night.  So we took a field trip sot hat we could all go get ourselves a 7” Android tablet… for $40!  This little thing is impressive!  I got 2 of them.  PLEASE don’t read this or breathe a word of it to my kids.  When we got to the parking lot of the store, we saw this restaurant and all just died laughing.  I guess you had to be there.

We found this to be hilarious

We found this to be hilarious

Day 6 – Desperate, and successful, attempt to beat the storm

There was one hell of an ice storm headed our way that started up near Chicago and stretched all the way down to Texas.  We were really worried that we wouldn’t get back home.  We had successfully talked the entire class into skipping lunch and getting out of class early.  And we were able to make arrangements for earlier flights (we were originally scheduled to fly back home on the last possible flight into Kalamazoo).  So we loaded up the MV (that’s what we called our rental… it stands for minivan) and headed back to Reagan National.

Mad props and shout out to our chauffeur – who is my friend and colleague, Mike.  He drove us around all week.  There were no less than 3 loud and crazy women in the MV at any given time.  We picked on him relentlessly.  In our defense, he did try to get that vehicle air born, drove in the shoulder, and even chirped the tires.  But we couldn’t be more grateful for him.  THANK YOU so much, Mikey!!!

Our driver and the MV

Our driver and the MV

One thought on “Trip Report

Leave a Reply

