I am thankful…

I started out this morning in a VERY bad mood.

Yesterday, I was sick.  Like REALLY sick.  Apparently, the flu bug got ahold of me pretty hard.  By the end of the evening, my youngest was sick.  By 11:30pm, my oldest couldn’t breathe and had to have a nebulizer treatment.  She was also sick.  I had to get up twice in the middle of the night to clean up my youngest (yes, use your imagination.  It’s the flu.  You know exactly what I’m talking about).  DH also got up once.  I had to get up at 7am after very little sleep (SQUIRREL – This “no sleep” thing has been going on FAR too long.  I’m not surprised at all that I got sick.  I’ve been an easy target.)  It’s been a ROUGH 24 hours.

I’m annoyed that my Thanksgiving plans have changed.  I’ve had to come up with a new plan that includes me cooking a big meal just for the four of us (it’s important to me that we try to do at least some of the traditional Thanksgiving stuff).  And I had to come up with this plan after the stores were already closed.  Grrrrrr…….

So I started my day with a cup of coffee and Facebook… like I do every day off.  This is what I saw:

It’s important to remember that not everyone is surrounded by large wonderful families. Some of us have problems during the holidays and sometimes are overcome with great sadness when we remember the loved ones who are not with us. And, many people have no one to spend these times with and are besieged by loneliness. We all need caring thoughts and loving prayer right now. If I don’t see your name, I’ll understand. May I ask my friends wherever you might be, to kindly copy, paste, and share this status for one hour to give a moment of support to all those who have family problems, health struggles, job issues, worries of any kind and just need to know that someone cares. Do it for all of us, for nobody is immune.

Ahhh, PERSPECTIVE.  I needed that.  So first, I am thankful for social media (actually, my friends on there) for providing me a much needed attitude adjustment.  But also, I am very grateful that I get to be with my family today, I have a job, and I can feed my family.  Not all of my friends can say that and my heart goes out to them.  Knowing that, I’m going to do my best to make sure that we count our blessings and spend quality time together today.  I honestly believe that everything happens for a reason; this might just be a blessing in disguise.

Wishing all of you a HAPPY THANKSGIVING, FRIENDS!!!!!!  😀

2 thoughts on “I am thankful…

Leave a Reply

