Songs I listen to when I’m sad

Did anyone else have a super emotional and sucky day today?  I sure did.  And I know a couple of my friends did too.  And it got me thinking about songs I listen to when I get to feeling down.  Here’s my list:

1.  Tonight – Smashing Pumpkins
2.  I Can’t Make You Love Me – Bonnie Raitt
3.  Bittersweet symphony – The Verve
4.  Creep – Radiohead
5.  The Story – Brandi Carlisle (my current GO TO sad song)
6.  When I Was Your Man – Bruno Mars
7.  I Think It’s Going to Rain – Bette Midler or Norah Jones
8.  Turning Tables – Adele (or pretty much anything on “21”)
9.  I’m Only Happy When It Rains – Garbage
10.  Back to Black – Amy Winehouse
11.  Hallelujah – K. D. Lang
12.  Need You Now – Lady Antebellum
13.  Volcano – Damien Rice (although I liked the version that Phillip Phillips did better)

And a friend of mine introduced me to a new one today.  Ironically, I had never heard it until I turned on the TV this evening and it was the first thing I heard.  So the new addition to my list as of today is…….
Say Something – Great Big World

What are your sad songs?  (P.S. – Don’t worry.  We’ll do a happy song list later this week when we’re all up to it.  :))

One thought on “Songs I listen to when I’m sad

  1. This may sound strange, but I am rarely “sad”, or have a really sucky day. And, when I am, as involved in music and singing as I am, I don’t turn to it. I’m more apt to turn to people – friends, family, just enough to be jolted back into laughter. I can always count on both for that, as well as support. But then, I don’t have a husband and am not raising a young family, so solitude and music isn’t what I turn to. I can sure understand why some do, though. 🙂
    PS: Min, I’m so damned old I didn’t know half of the songs/groups you posted. lol

Leave a Reply

